Sweet Number 16

Image

I recently visited Number 16 on Byres Road – a pocket sized restaurant near Dumbarton Road.

My friend & I popped in for lunch after hearing lots of people raving about it. The lunch is of good value at 2 courses for £11.95 or 3 courses for £13.95. After ordering drinks, our waitress brought over freshly baked bread with parmesan butter. The bread (and butter) was lovely and any restaurant that bakes their own bread gets my approval.

For starters we chose pan fried fillet of rainbow trout with lemon, creme fraiche potato & sauce vierge and sweet potato broth with lemongrass, coriander & chilli. The latter dish was the kind of broth that I want to make at home but I can never seem to inject much flavour into. Luckily, this was flavoured perfectly. The rainbow trout was a lovely fresh dish to have as a starter and the ingredients complemented each other wonderfully.

Image

Rainbow Trout

Image

Sweet Potato Broth

I had already decided on my main course before we even walked through the door thanks to my excessive online menu research – thank goodness the menu wasn’t different online! The braised pork belly (from Ramsays of Carluke) with Stornaway black pudding croquette, white onion marmalade, celeriac puree & spiced apple sauce was everything that I wanted it to be and more. Each element of the dish was cooked exactly how it should have been and the dish went so well together.

They were very accomodating when my friend asked for one of the starters as a main course and were happy to make a bigger portion as a main. The fresh tagliatelle with mushrooms, garlic & sage butter was delicious. I have to admit that I don’t order pasta dishes outside of Italian restaurants as I have never found them to be as good but my friend let me sample some and it definitely was.

Image

Pork Belly

Image

Tagliatelle

By this point I was full to bursting but my dining companion is a sticky toffee pudding aholic so I knew she was having dessert when I spotted it on the menu. I sensibly didn’t order dessert and had a coffee instead until she offered me a taste of said pudding. It was the best sticky toffee pudding that either of us have ever had, seriously good. The sponge was light, the sauce was rich & plentiful and there was a wee bit of unwhipped cream to cut through the sauce. Perfection.

Image

Sticky Toffee Pudding

The restaurant has an understatedly classy but homely look to it & fantastic individual style wood tables. Finally, our waitress was just lovely. There was only one on because it was a Wednesday lunchtime and the place is very small but we didn’t have to wait for anything. She was helpful and made us feel at ease. I just hope that next time I visit that the restaurant lives up to the high expectations – thats when I will know its worth.

I am always looking for new places to take the folks when they are down for weekends and I’ve just added Number 16 to the list.

Number 16 Restaurant on Urbanspoon

6 comments

  1. Number 16 is somewhere I’ve been meaning to check out for ages. I was a little put off lack of choice for vegetarians, but I’ve been assured that the vegetarian option is always lovely, and it sounds from your review like they would be very accommodating if any modifications were required. Really must try it out now!

Please share your opinions

