I Meet Bread Meats Bread

Glasgow has seen a flurry of American-y restaurants open this year and I’m making a plucky effort to get my way around them all. It’s battle of the burger, menus, quality beer and triple cooked fries. The latest restaurant to join this trend is Bread Meats Bread, which is in a fab location just off Buchanan Street. Over the last few weeks I’ve been peeking in through the window every time I pass but they had it well hidden until the launch day. On Tuesday night I finally got to see the place at the launch & weigh up my opinions on the newbie in town.

Exterior

Exterior

I arrived early on the night so that I could take a few photos and bag us a good seat. The restaurant has floor to ceiling windows along two walls & is on the corner of St Vincent Street and Renfield Street so there’s a real city vibe when you’re sitting inside. There’s chunky tables and booth seats made by Glasgow Wood Recycling, which is a social enterprise that create furniture by hand from locally reclaimed timber. I loved the big cow on the wall that screams carnivore to me (not actually) and the animal details in the seating.

Interior

Interior

But lets face it – the food was what’s bringing us there and I was just hoping that it was going to live up to my high expectations after so much chat. After being given some fizz and chatting to the lovely staff, we starting scrutinising the menu.

Menu

Menu

Burgers are split into three sections – house blend, red label (made with spicy n’duja sausage) and black label premium. There’s even a surf and turf burger that combines the black label premium burger with lobster meat. We tried a variety of sampler sliders to get a good overview of their products. The Spartan red label was my favourite with cooling tzatziki to mellow the n’duja. The house burger was also rich & satisfying but the boys favourite was the black label burger.

The Spartan

The Spartan

Breaking free from the usual bun, BMB have the trendy bun of the moment, brioche, along with the potato bun (my favourite) and the pretzel bun (holds toppings well). We tried them all and liked them all, and when I go back for a proper visit I’ll find out if they survive a full burger without breaking. We learned that all of the buns are made at Bavarian Bakery in Kirkintilloch & the owner was at the launch checking how they all went down.

After the burgers we got to sample some sandwiches from the menu. First came pastrami on rye bread with mustard – the pastrami was so tasty and my only criticism is that I would have liked it sliced a bit thinner.  We tried the beef brisket with cheese & house gravy and it was tremendous. The beef was falling apart and the cheese & gravy flavours matched perfectly – definitely one of the favourites. Next came a gourmet (hot) dog sampler that we really liked. By this point we were truly convinced that all of the meats would be delicious.

IMG_1160

 

During the meat-fest we also got to taste the triple-cooked chips and sweet potato chips. The sweet potato chips were described by one of my party as ‘immense’ so that sums it up really.

Sweet Potato Chips

Sweet Potato Chips

The menu also has pulled chicken sandwiches, a meatball sandwich & porchetta ciabatta sandwiches. I’m also interested in the grilled cheese with the soup dip – it sounds so American and a great lunch treat. But the thing on the menu that I want to try the most is the poutine. It is basically chips, cheese curds & gravy and is extremely popular in Canada. I’ve never had cheese curds before and I love trying new things so hopefully a new indulgence for me.

Love the seat decor

Love the seat decor

The menu poses a big problem for me – there’s so much savoury food that I want that I don’t know how I’ll ever fit in a dessert. Even if we share one between four, or just have an ice-cream cone, I am determined to try one. The smashed caramel brownie & the glasgownut (a doughnut and croissant mash-up) both sound too good to miss. I’m sure they’ll go delightfully with a bottle of Blue Moon or Brooklyn lager.

Favourite beers

Favourite beers

In short, we were very enamoured with Bread Meats Bread and, before we’d even left the building, had planned our return trip on Sunday. Fingers crossed we’ve got a new favourite.

6 comments

  1. This is the right web site for everyone who hopes to find
    out about this topic. You understand a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I actually will need to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a new spin on a subject which has been written about for decades.
    Excellent stuff, just excellent!

Please share your opinions

