Time For Some Culture…Chobani Culture

Last week I ate more yoghurt than I have in the last three months put together. Not that I’m complaining – I quite enjoy yoghurt but usually see it as a sugary indulgence so avoid putting it into my trolley in the supermarket. I do sometimes eat greek yoghurt in the morning with some fruit and honey but I’ve been working lots of mornings recently so breakfast has been shelved. Well, breakfast had been shelved until I got a charming e-mail from Amy at Chobani inviting me to a launch event but, as I could not make it, offering me some yoghurt to sample.

IMG_1029

I had never even heard of Chobani but my online research found that they are one of the biggest yoghurt sellers in USA and are slowly working their way around the world. They only started production in 2005 but, having now taken over America, 2012 saw Chobani hit the UK. They have a range of flavours now being sold in Tesco, Morrisons & Asda’s around the city that I hadn’t spotted yet but a few people have since said to me that they have seen it.

Unfortunately I could not get their UK website to load all weekend to find out more details – too many people showing an interest may have overloaded the site. All of the yoghurts that I was sent had less than 2% fat and no added sugar. This pleased me as I avoid flavoured yoghurt because yoghurt has so much natural sugar then the majority of them are teeming with added sugars & sweeteners. Another bonus is that they give 10% of profits to charity – they have a list of their charities online & I am hoping that as they sell more in the UK that they might also start supporting local charities over here.

IMG_1223

First things first, I wanted to know the price because there was no point in me getting hooked on something that cost a fortune. I found that the smaller pots (110g) that come in four packs retail around £2.29, the normal sized ones (170g) are about 89p and the mega sized about £2. This puts them in-line with the Benecol, Danio and Activia price wise so they are at the higher end of the supermarket scale.

On inspection of my delivery of yoghurt I liked the packaging and the pots seemed robust enough to last the journey to work without a yoghurt catastrophe. I was sent four packs of the black cherry & pineapple and individual 170g pots of the lemon, passionfruit & raspberry along with a large pot of the plain strained yoghurt.

I can tell you outright that the passionfruit was my favourite and pineapple was my least favourite. I just didn’t find the pineapple sweet enough and it’s not really a yoghurt flavour that I’d pick.

IMG_1356

The lemon one was pleasant and the black cherry went down well at a sampling session with workmates. I kept the raspberry one for myself & I am glad I did because it was my second favourite.

IMG_1228

I tried the plain one instead of my usual greek yoghurt with fruit and honey for breakfast & it was a worthy substitute. Again, it wasn’t sweet but I would much rather add my own honey than buy something full of sweeteners.

IMG_1225

I thought they would all be good for dieters because they were thick and substantial enough as a small meal or large snack. Perfect timing really because I’m sure I’ll be needing a substitute on my return from holiday for all the coffee ice-cream I’ll undoubtedly scoff.

One comment

Please share your opinions

