Celinos Makes Dennistoun

I have written about Dennistoun before and have mentioned a few times my love for Celinos. This cafe/restaurant/deli was a small deli when I first moved to Dennistoun with four rickety tables. I’d go in for takeaway pork rolls and olives. A couple of years in they expanded and there’s now about 17 tables and a dedicated deli side. They sell a wide selection of meat, cheese, pasta, wine etc to takeaway and even sell Celinos shopper bags (I have four!).
The restaurant menu changes from day to night & they also have lunch and pre-theatre menus. I’d recommend the penne salsiccia aurora, macaroni cheese, pollo milanese, pollo bianco, the soprano & focaccia. And the soups and pizzas are pretty great too. They have got Moretti on tap to wash it all down.

 

celinos exterior1

 

Celinos is somewhere that I regularly meet friends for coffee or lunch. I have been so busy in January that I wasn’t in at all so the first free day off I had I popped in. Alan (the maître d’ or front of house manager) greets everyone like an old friend – it’s no wonder that he was a runner up for best front of house in the Scottish Italian Awards 2013. He is always on the ball and, working in a restaurant, I can almost see what he is thinking at times. Definitely a major asset to the place.

 

celinosjuly13-1

 

Anyway, Alan made sure I got a good seat & a drink straight away. They sell cans of San Pellegrino Aranciata so I usually have that or the blood orange one. When it came to ordering I really wanted the seabass with leek risotto that used to be on the pre-theatre menu & the head chef kindly arranged to make it for me. This is the type of place Celinos is – the staff working there seem passionate about what they do & have an understanding of what brings people back. They appear to genuinely care if you enjoyed your visit. Unfortunately this is not apparent in many places that I visit so it stands out.

 

 

I sat back and made use of the free wi-fi to do some blogging and the place literally filled up in minutes. During the day it is busy and bustling with a mixture of people.

 

My dish arrived and I was offered freshly ground black pepper. The seabass was cooked perfectly with a really crispy skin. The risotto was creamy and cheesy with a slight sweetness from the leek. Together it was a rich and indulgent mouthful & exactly as I remembered it.

 

IMG_2843

 

I noticed that the pre-theatre menu now has seabass with infused rice so I’ll try that next time if I can drag myself away from the pasta.

I ended the meal with a cappuccino & when I asked for a coffee Alan knew straight away that I drink cappuccinos. Even my dad who lives in Inverness talks about Celinos coffee. It’s strong, Italian coffee that packs a punch & wakes me up when I’m hungover or tired!

 

IMG_2847

 

I paid the bill and forced myself to walk past the deli counter and not buy a big Italian loaf & goddess olives. Until next time!

Read my post on Dennistoun here:

https://girlaroundglasgow.wordpress.com/2013/07/17/have-you-been-to-dtoun-lately/

(I’d like to make it clear that I received no payment for this review & I paid for my meal. I just rave because Celinos is my local & I have a great deal of affection for it!)

 

 

Celino's on Urbanspoon

Please share your opinions

