Inverness Round-Up…Beer, Cheese & Baking

A little round-up of some places that I have been this year during Inverness trips to visit the good people. I’m not going to lie, I spend most of my time drinking cups of tea and catching up on the Sneck gossip but occasionally I have time for other things…

 

A positive element to blogging is that companies follow your blog, so often I find places that I would never have known about. Even those that I already know about that follow me draw my attention to them once again. I first tried The Cromarty Brewing Company Happy Chappy pale ale at The Allangrange Arms and I’ve been drinking it any time I see it on a menu ever since. After following The Cromarty Brewing Co on twitter I made a point to visit next time I was in the area. It was a Monday and my sister and I were Cromarty bound when Google maps told me the brewery was shut. I phoned them and Google was lying…phew! We were greeted by a lovely little Jack Russell and spent some time choosing a selection of bottles to take back to the house.

 

P1000120

 

After collecting  the important stuff, we went to Cromarty Bakery to pick up a picnic lunch of bridies and cakes then drove to Rosemarkie beach. We had planned to eat outside but it was cold and windy so we sat in the car and ate the delicious baked goodies. Chanonry point is nearby so we were dolphin spotting but the water was too rough too spot anything.

 

Rosemarkie

Rosemarkie

 

On the way back we stopped in at the Highland Bottle Shop for a few more beers. This pint sized place (da-dum) has a great selection of Scottish beers and also an around selection, including my favourite Little Creatures from WA.

 

photo(15)

 

I grew up living nearby to Culloden Battlefield but I hadn’t been in years so mum and I took a jaunt up to the new shop and centre. The shop is full of tartan, walking books, jewellery, ceramics and other Scottish pieces. The battle of Culloden was the final battle from the Jacobite rising in 1746. You can walk out on to the battlefield as I have done many times before but it was a windy day so we gave it a miss this time.

 

Processed with Moldiv
We also paid a visit to Connage Highland Dairy out at Ardersier to get some cheese for my birthday meal. They have a big, cold cheese pantry with their own organic cheeses on display as well as other British and Continental offerings. This is where to go if you are a cheese lover that’s for sure. There is a massive selection and you can try before you buy. They make their own natural yoghurt for you to buy and if you go at the right time you can even watch them making cheese.

 

P1000371

 

After choosing what cheese we wanted we picked up some baby gherkins and oatcakes then had a cappuccino in their adjoining coffee shop. In the shop they sell local foodie items like oils, biscuits, chutneys, cheese boards and accessories.

 

P1000370

 

Harry Gow’s bakery is an Inverness institution & my parents work right next to their original premises so growing up our favourite treat was a dream ring. It makes me sad that we don’t have them down here – a Harry Gow sausage roll or even morning roll is a thing of beauty!

 

 

20140427-113847.jpg

 

The girls and I also went for afternoon tea at Culloden House so I will be writing about that in a separate post soon.

 

 

You can read about other Inverness posts here:

The Allangrange Arms

Please share your opinions

