Heavenly Food At Passorn

Sawadee Ka!

I’ve recently done a post on our ladies weekend in Edinburgh but I decided that Passorn deserved their own post – the presentation was too good to only show a couple of photos.

 

I have eaten in a restaurant in the West End of Edinburgh once before & My Big Fat Greek Kitchen suitably impressed me. So when I was surprised with another visit to the area recently I had high hopes. This time it was to visit Passorn – a Thai restaurant that my mum had scouted out.

 

1-IMG_3737
We ordered three starters between five of us and we loved the presentation of everything served. Aob Chey was the first of the starters to arrive and this is thai chicken satay skewers. The chicken had a chargrilled effect and the peanut sauce really was heavenly. The cucumber sauce provided a sharper, cleaner option after the creamy peanut.

 

1-IMG_3742

 

The beef tenderloin salad was bursting with taste. The mint, kaffir lime and lemongrass provided freshness to cut through rich tamarind & chillies.

 

1-IMG_3743

 

The Puan Kan – Bangkok fish cakes – were delicately spiced and had just enough red chilli heat. We enjoyed the prawn cake & the fish cake, and the kaffir lime through them was a big hit.

 

1-IMG_3745

 

Pla Ma Now is a seabass dish with red chilli, lemongrass, galangal, kaffir lime and lime juice. The delicate fish just about held its own with the other ingredients and this dish had quite a kick. I think this was my favourite main course.

 

1-IMG_3757

 

The first of our stir-fry type dishes was Pad Med Hinmapan. We loved the cashews in this wok dish. The spring onion and peppers were tossed in the sauce of chilli and thai sweet basil with chicken.

 

1-IMG_3752

 

My choice of red thai curry with chicken is the nicest red thai curry that I’ve tasted, ever. The spicy and rich flavours smacked you in the face whilst the creaminess calmed it down. I loved it.

 

1-IMG_3755

 

I can guarantee that my mum will almost always pick a stir-fry style dish with garlic and ginger in a thai restaurant and her selection this time was Gratium Prig Tai. Alongside garlic and ginger, they had used black pepper and coriander to season the chicken.

 

1-IMG_3747

 

Pad Thai was full of nuttiness and came with chilli flakes and crushed nuts on the side. The chicken was moist and beansprouts provided crunch for the dish.

 

1-IMG_3760

 

Too stuffed for dessert, we went for cocktails instead. The fruity combos were cold and refreshing.

 

1-IMG_3763
My parents are big fans of Thai food so when I go for Thai it tends to be with them. I’ll be making an exception for Passorn though, and visiting again soon with whoever happens to be with me in Edinburgh.

 

 

Price range: Starters £5.60 – £8.50, main courses £11.25 – £19.50, house wine £15.45 (bottle)

 

Passorn Thai on Urbanspoon

Please share your opinions

