Beefing It Up At The Butchershop

I always like when a second visit to a restaurant is even better than the first. It shows me that the first success was not just a fluke and that the place should have longevity. We visited The Butchershop Bar & Grill on Sauchiehall Street last year for lunch and have been meaning to return ever since. There are just too many good places in Glasgow so it has taken us a while to get back there. Two months ago we decided a wee date night was in order so we booked in for an early dinner. I’m a bit behind so it has taken me this long to finish writing about it.

 

1-photo(2)

 

Their pre theatre menu offers two courses for £13.95 (£3 supplement for steak) or three for £17.95. The starter choices were soup, salmon gravlax, meatballs, chicken liver parfait or a beet & blue cheese salad. I didn’t feel in the mood for any of them so I saved myself for my main course but Mr S chose the soup de jour. It was tomato soup and came with bread & rock salt butter.

 

1-IMG_4468

 

Enough about the starter, Butchershop is all about the steak. The first time we visited we both had burgers so we were looking forward to trying out their speciality. As well as steak, the pre theatre mains included chicken breast, sea bream, beef burger or leek cannelloni. Unsurprisingly we both had steak – 250g Scottish 28 day aged rump steak to be exact.

 

1-IMG_4469

 

First of all we were impressed by the shape of the steak. Might sound strange, but as most steaks come in a thin square or rectangle they can dry out. Not this one. Both were cooked perfectly to our specifications and were juicy inside. The menu stated that it comes with garlic butter or peppercorn sauce but I asked if I could swap this for bearnaise. I barely used any of it because the rump had so much natural flavour that it was surplus to requirement. The Sicilian Statua Negroamaro red wine was a great match for the steak. The fries were nice but in retrospect I should have asked for a side to up my veggie intake.

 

1-IMG_4476

 

Mr S spotted sticky toffee pudding for dessert and I settled upon the creme brulee. Both were solid dessert efforts and rounded off the meal nicely.

 

1-IMG_44811-IMG_4479

 

It was certainly the best rump steak that I’ve had in a long time and the service was efficient & friendly. They run a ‘burger vs steak frites tuesday’ promotion where you get two steaks or burgers and a bottle of wine for £30. Sounds like excellent value to me and a good excuse for a tuesday feast.

 

 

Please share your opinions

