Sea-ing The Real Gannet

In February we visited The Gannet restaurant in Finnieston for the first time. Due to a ‘table back by’ issue we never had as relaxed a visit as we thought we would. When the owner heard about this he got in touch to find out details & invited us back to the restaurant. The customer service from him was exemplary and he made us feel valued and welcomed.

 

We arrived for lunch & were given a glass of pink fizz. A nice way to read the menu!

 

1-IMG_6082

 

A pre-starter of pickled herring, carrot, dill, crème fraiche and lettuce arrived soon after. We would never have chosen pickled herring as a starter but after this dish I would. The pickle wasn’t overbearing so the natural taste of the fish could come through and the accompaniments went well. I see that they’ve put it on the menu now and I want to go back for it.

 

 

1-IMG_6088

 

Then my Stornaway black pudding scotch duck egg arrived. By this point I was glad that I skipped breakfast – it was massive! The execution of this dish gets 10/10. The crumb was crispy, the ratio of egg to black pudding was spot on, the egg was totally runny, the sauce gribiche provided a slight creamy tang and the leaves were there for freshness. Our Cotes Du Rhone was full bodied enough to cope with the black pudding.

 

 

1-IMG_6094

 

It was so big that they gave us a break before the main course to get a second wind.

When we were ready our pork arrived. I had pork for my main course last time I visited The Gannet & it was something special so I chose it again. This time there was pork belly and loin, cooked exactly how I would want it to be. The pork comes from a farm in the borders and it is fantastically tasty. White onion purée was smooth & sweet, mashed potato was silky and spring greens were buttery. The jus made from the meat juices was rich and finished the plate perfectly. It slotted straight in to my top five favourite main courses this year.

 

 

1-IMG_6101

 

I like a refreshing lemon dessert so went for the lemon posset. It was exactly what I expected from a posset but I was jealous of the caramel fondant on the other side of the table!

 

 

1-IMG_6112

 

I really should have chosen the exciting option. The feedback from the other side of the table on the caramel fondant was ‘awesome’ – simple but I caught the drift. I can’t remember a time when I’ve seen Mr S so happy with a dessert, it bowled him over.

 

 

1-IMG_6108

 

We wandered into Kelvingrove Park in a food coma to lie in the sun. It was only a month ago but we have to recreate that soon. The Gannet does two courses for £15 or three for £19 on their lunch menu, which is spectacular value. I notice that they’ve started a small plates menu (£5 average) that is really appealing to me for lunch. I can’t praise them enough.

 

Gannet on Urbanspoon

Please share your opinions

