Enjoy Bistro

Ahh, remembering summer. So many days in the Botanic Gardens, BBQ’s on the balcony & al fresco dining. On one of these beautiful days I met a friend outside Enjoy Bistro on Great Western Road. The name kept cropping up and, after a bit of research, I thought it would be ideal food for a summer’s day.

IMG_5986.JPG

At lunch time they had their a la carte menu, a two/three course set menu or a small plates menu. We ended up having the two course option. The halloumi and aubergine sounded good but I ended up having the roasted butternut squash, caramelised red onion & pomegranate salad with dijon dressing to start. The flavours were bursting with freshness, it was well seasoned & had lots of herbs. This chef understands food. I’d happily have this as a main course and that’s saying a lot considering it has no meat or cheese!

IMG_5993.JPG

The baby aubergines baked with halloumi, tomato and pine nuts was another hit. It also came on a bed of dressed and herbed salad that lightened the dish.

IMG_5990.JPG

My main of baked fillet of hake, warm chard potato salad with caponata seared beet salad, balsamic & chilli dressing, baby gem & crusty bread was a description mouthful! I don’t remember there being bread but there was so much going on that it didn’t need it. This was the perfect choice for the sunny weather & I liked the dish very much. There was a slight over usage of dill that I scraped aside and I think I’d have preferred the potatoes hot but these things were minor on my enjoyment scale.

IMG_5998.JPG

The chicken across the table was grilled with rosemary and garlic and served with the same potatoes that I had. The Mediterranean veg was nicely roasted & it was another herby, summery number.

It has the advantage of being ten minutes walk from the Botanic Gardens, where I went to read in the sun afterwards.

IMG_6001.JPG

All in all, we were impressed with Enjoy Bistro. It’s a lovely local place with homemade food & I’m interested to try the more Wintery menu.

2 comments

Please share your opinions

